Work In Progress

I’ve been sketching out some ideas for new quilts. Let me know what you think. Both of these will have pieced backgrounds and then I’ll probably do raw edge applique. I plan on creating the one with the Morning Glories with wools. I found Weeks Dye Works Wools. They are absolutely scrumptious. Very nice colors, full range, and they come in 1/4 yard cuts. You don’t have to turn the wool when you applique because it is already felted so it won’t unravel. This should let me do some wonderful work blending and shading with fabrics.

Morning Glories Quilt Draft

Morning Glories Quilt Draft

The quilt with the center medallion will probably be created using Batik Textiles fabrics. Same thing, pieced top and then applique over it. I may do a turned edge, or I may do a narrow satin stitch. I’ll probably test it and see. I like quilts to be soft so I’ll test some out to see how stiff they are when completed. I need to get some more of the border fabric to use to go around each of the diamonds. I love how ornate that looks.

Medallion Quilt with Batiks Work In Progress

Medallion Quilt with Batiks Work In Progress

I plan on embellishing with some thicker threads. I don’t want to use beads because I want them to be cuddly but thread work will really enhance them. I can’t wait to get started.

3 Comments

  1. January 10, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Hey Trish!

    It looks so wonderful! You know, I was just thinking of some silks I bought and how much I look forward to working with something other than cotton 🙂 I can’t wait to see your creation in your wools!

  2. Jen Eskridge said,

    January 23, 2009 at 12:19 am

    Those are beautiful. Your illustrations are great!

  3. trishstuart said,

    January 31, 2009 at 6:28 am

    Thanks, Jen. It’s nice to hear from someone out there!!! I’m getting closer to getting some of the applique put together. Coming soon!


