rE-generating clothes

I am so excited about this rE-generating that I am getting into. I went to the local thrift store the other day looking for something with a Peter Pan collar on it. I wanted to use it on a tote.

I found this adorable little red skirt for a little girl. It looks like sailor pants only it’s a pleated skirt. I just couldn’t resist it.
redpurseskirt
I turned it into a bag. The great thing about children clothes now is they have this elastic in them that can be buttoned into different lengths. It makes the waist adjustable for those constantly changing kids tummies. Wow. What a concept. I love what it lets me do to the bag!

You’ll have to go to the website to see the finished bag… I’m making it into a pattern. Not that you can follow it exactly as you will have a different skirt, but I’ll be teaching you how to modify what you DO find to create your own, unique bag.

It’s so fun, and I could not believe how quick! It was done in just a few hours. Wonderful when someone else has done half of the sewing for you! And it only cost me about a couple dollars after I added duck cloth and “D” rings. Unbelievable. Check the website soon for a look at the pattern. www.trishstuart.com

1 Comment

  1. naidu7 said,

    August 31, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    hi trishstuart,
    i must say that you are very smart to think of an idea skirt into a designed
    bag. it is beautifull.
    Marleine from Australia also a craft lover especially knitting for babies.
    keep it up. cheers.


