Pictures of InkoDye

You asked for a few pictures of the finished InkoDye projects.

This one is the first one I tried to do. I did not dilute the ink very much. I am not wild about how high contrast all of it is, but it cured/set really, really fast. There wasn’t time for the ink to soak into the fabric to create the shadow effect under the plants. Plus, I had not made the master grid of all of the colors I had purchased yet, so I didn’t know what to expect.

inkodye_1st

I THREW plants on here. Didn’t take much time to try to press them into the fabric. As you can see, there isn’t a lot of detailing for the veins in the plants because of that.

Here are two that I did having diluted the ink more. I used probably 2 times the amount of water (1 part ink, 4 parts water). I also spent time pressing the plants to the fabric, used fewer plants, and then moved it into the sunlight. I really love the way I got a different color under where the plants were. When I use the SetaColor paints, the color under the plant is the same color as the paint I used. With the InkoDye, the color was NOT the same as the ink I poured onto the fabric. I really like the hand of the fabric after this, too. Better than the extra body and slight stiffness I got with the SetaColor.

inkodye_2nd

This image has some metallic paint added to it, as you can see in the streaks. Plus, this is diluted even more than the previous image. Fewer leaves. Not nearly as defined but would make a great background cloth.

inkodye_3rd

And finally, I am not sure that this next image is SetaColor. I am thinking it is the InkoDye, because I spilled a BUNCH of it on the area I was working, and used the cloth to mop up the dye. Then I threw a plant on top of it, so I am thinking this is the result. I could be wrong. I get going and lose track of which is what.
setacolorblack
Well, no, now I am thinking it really is the SetaColor… see how the black stays put? Not spreading like the ink does. I’m not sure.

Hope this helps you. If I do more of them, I’ll post pictures.

