Jamaica Vanilla

I am so READY to get on that cruise I will be teaching in February. I have never been to the Caribbean and being asked to teach on a cruise to Jamaica and other stops, well, it’s like a dream come true.

Here is what I will be teaching on the cruise.
jamaicaqlt
Strip piecing makes the block fairly quick to piece. The applique is raw edge fusible. Two large stars are surrounded by the “diamond” blocks. Then the same block is used around the quilt, creating the illusion of a 3D border. Using colors very close in value provides you with a nice base for the art nouveau type applique. I absolutely love using neutral fabrics like this.

I plan on making a new pattern that will be a modified version of this, using a color, rather than neutral fabrics so check into the website soon to get a look at it: www.trishstuart.com. I think you will be pleased to see what a difference COLOR can make!

2 Comments

  1. Denise Taunton said,

    September 23, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    I have recently discovered Stitchin Heaven on the web and via that
    Trish Stewart. I am absolutely in love with the beautiful quilt Trish has designed and chosen for the upcoming cruise I saw advertised on the Stitchin Heaven website. Oh how I wish I was able to join that cruise!! Maybe one day …….when I get lucky and win the lottery. In the meantime I will be hanging out for the pattern to be printed — or a kit.

    Best always

    Denise Taunton

  2. trishstuart said,

    September 30, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    Denise, I am in the process of making this pattern available for sale… Thanks for the positive reinforcement and I’ll blog when I get it ready to go.
    Trish


