Quilt Festival, etc.

Just wanted you to know, I realize I haven’t posted in a while, things get away from me.
It’s great out… we’ve had lots of rain (over 30″ in one month) so things are a little soggy, but the sun has been out for the past two days and I love it. I washed the dog outside today, too. A bit chilly but she was starting to smell like swamp… eeeeuww.

I went to CA and had a wonderful time teaching. My pictures are all still in my phone but I called Sprint and talked to a nice young man and I think I know how to get them out now. I’ll post the pictures of the class soon.

Quilt Festival in Houston was amazing, as usual. I was in Cindy Surina’s booth “Custom Creations”. She invited me to sign books at her booth and I was happy to meet so many of you while I was there. It was really nice not to have the responsibility of my own booth, so I got all of the bennies but none of the stress.

If you didn’t attend Houston I have to tell you the quilts that won awards were fabulous. And there was a display there from Germany… a “forest” of quilts. Very interesting. There were a lot of incredible ideas that were inspiring and it was so interesting to see how different textures were created. I am sorry. I didn’t have a camera so I don’t have pictures to share this time. I won’t do that again. Next show I will be sure to take pics to share with you so you can at least see some of what I experienced.

My favorite of all of the quilts was a quilt done on black wholecloth. It was awarded by Superior Threads and was a scene of the wetlands called “Protection” done by Hollis Chatelaine of Hillsboro, NC. You can see it at this link:

I am so enthralled by Hollis’s work. What an artist!

BTW, I have about 20 Jamaica Vanilla Patterns left over after what was needed for the cruise. If you are interested please order soon. They are moving very quickly. The applique is full size line drawing so I don’t plan on printing that again… it was pretty expensive to do the oversize printing.

Click on the picture and it will take you to the online store where you can order it. I’ll put more in soon, with pictures, next time! jamaica_vanilla
Oh, one more thing… if you are interested, we are offering a Christmas Special. It is one of everything in the QuiltArt series of books and DVD’s. Click on the Jamaica Vanilla pattern and it will take you to the online store.

2 Comments

  1. Marla Sandridge said,

    November 13, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Dear Trish, I have just finished reading every one of your blogs, and am waiting for the next with great anticipation! I love your sewing studio! I found the footage I needed to have my dh make wooden holders that attach to the walls, then I put 1 1/4″ dowels through those pesky rolls of stabilizer etc. and then inserted them in his holders….lots of room on the floor now!! I also am quite anxious to see the cruise quilt in additional colors…although I would like to make it in the same colors you did for a dear friend…so maybe you could let us know what fabrics you used & if they are still available. Your talent is wonderful and I am looking forward to more of your great art!

  2. trishstuart said,

    November 19, 2009 at 7:53 am

    Marla, It is great to hear from you. I would love to see a picture of your holders! I’ve thought of doing that but my wall space is so limited… I even thought of having my husband hang my roll of batting above the entry door but then worried about what would happen if it was unrolled and someone wanted in… they’d look like a snowman, only warmer. I have been modifying the Jamaica pattern. It is amazing how many versions of it you can do with just a few simple changes. I’ll be posting more pictures soon. I put a couple closeups on the blog today so I hope you like them. The colors I used in the original quilt are now, of course, out of print. I was so bummed to realize that I had chosen fabrics that would not be available. They were white and sort of a mushroom color in really contemporary visual textures. I’m still looking for a replacement. If you are really serious about the fabric you may be able to get one of the kits from Stitchin Heaven… they kitted them up for the cruise but just MAY have extras. Their website is http://www.stitchinheaven.com. Let me know what you come up with and send a picture. I’d love to see. And thank you so much for the nice compliments. I appreciate it, you’re a pip!


